Minor Pentatonic Scale

by Pete · 0 comments

The minor pentatonic scale is based on the minor scale. It uses the 1, 3, 4, 5 and 7 notes from a minor scale. For example, the C pentatonic minor would use C, E-flat, F, G, and B-flat. This scale is one that’s commonly used in blues solos. Combine it with the 12 bar blues or a 7th chord progression and you’ll have a cool sounding piece.

C Minor Scale C, D, E-flat, F, G, A-flat, and B-flat

C Minor Scale

C Minor Scale

C Pentatonic Minor C, E-flat, F, G, and B-flat

C Minor Pentatonic Scale

C Minor Pentatonic Scale

Another example going up two frets would be the D Minor pentatonic scale, using D, F, G, A, and C

D Minor Scale D, E, F, G, A, B-flat, and C

D Minor Scale

D Minor Scale

D Pentatonic Minor D, F, G, A, and C

Move this up the fretboard and you can play all the major pentatonic scales.

All notes in the this scale are in harmony with the root note, so you can not make a harmonic mistake if you stick to it, which makes them perfect for finger style blues solos.

If you haven’t already, you can check out the Major Pentatonic Scale

Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: